Eligibility for Services

People who live in Oakland County and meet the criteria listed in the Michigan Mental Health Code for persons with a developmental disability are eligible for services and supports. The Code describes a developmental disability as a severe, chronic condition that is due to a mental or physical impairment or combination of impairments. These impairments must occur before the age of 22, be likely to continue forever and seriously limit you, or not allow you to do things in three or more of the following activities:


  • Taking care of yourself
  • Receptive and expressive language
  • Learning
  • Self-direction
  • Ability to live by yourself and make money on your own

Eligibility Screening and Intake Process

Mental health services in Oakland County are accessed via Common Ground. Anyone requesting services should first contact Common Ground via phone at 1-800-231-1127.

Common Ground will determine a person’s eligibility as a person with mental health concerns, serious emotional disturbance, or a developmental disability by asking a series of screening questions (an in-person screening can also be requested). If a person is found eligible for services based on a developmental disability, they are provided with a choice of service providers, including the option of Community Living Services. The Common Ground staff will then make an intake appointment with the agency selected. An intake meeting will occur within 14 days from the time of the eligibility determination.